Make your request for a property tax deferral quickly

• Fire victims added to property tax deferral program

The deadline for eligible homeowners to apply for the California Property Tax Deferral Program is February 10. New this year is that homeowners affected by a wildfire have been granted an extension to file their case until May 11, according to KE Coleman, El Dorado County Treasurer-Collector. .

Coleman advises homeowners to submit an application for the program early. “This program is very popular and funding is limited,” Coleman said in a press release. Requests are processed in the order in which they are received.

The Property Tax Deferral Program, administered by the Office of the State Comptroller, allows eligible homeowners to defer paying property taxes on their principal residence.

To be eligible, owners must:

• Be at least 62 years old, blind or have a disability

• Owning and occupying the house

• Have a total family income of $45,810 or less

• Have at least 40% equity in the home

• Have no reverse mortgages on the property and meet other program requirements

The refund under the property tax deferral program becomes due when the owner moves, sells, transfers title, defaults, refinances, dies or obtains a reverse mortgage.

The application package and instructions can be found on the Comptroller’s Office website at sco.ca.gov/ardtax_prop_tax_postponement.html. For more information, call (800) 952-5661 or email [email protected].
Requirements may change without notice if the law is revised.

In the 2020-21 tax year, California homeowners were able to defer more than $4.3 million in residential property taxes. Participants must reapply each year and demonstrate that they continue to meet the eligibility criteria.

Comments are closed.